New to reloading

Smokin250

As title says i am new to reloading and am looking for a little help. I have reloaded 9mms with friends but never rifles. I recently purchased 22-250 dies for my 700 sps varmint. I am trying to figure out what kinds of things i need and what types of loads i might be looking for, pretty much as much info as i can get.

First off i just ordered 100 Hornady 55gr v-max's. So i have bullets. What type of powder would be best, also i have saved all of my brass so its already fire formed...how much do i need to trim off cases, or what length should they be. Also, at gun shop i work at we have large rifle primers, we have two kinds 200 and 250's (magnum i think), which would be best. If there is anything else i forgot go ahead and add. Also, i will add that i don't know the terminology very well yet so bare with me if i make a fool of myself.

Basically my gun shoots decent now, i just think reloading would be interesting and would like to try it out. Below is a picture of a group i shot out of my rifle at 100 yds +/- with factory hornady 50grs.

3129xtg.jpg

Thanks for any help,
Brian

First thing I would do, go and get you a good reloading manual. I hear good things about the Hornady 7th edition. Maybe get a couple of them. They will answer a lot of the questions you asked.

If you work at a gun shop, maybe you can "barrow" one they have.

We don't have any manuals. We actually just started carrying reloading supplies. Bullets and primers now, waiting for powder i think. But i will have to look into a manual. I knew that i would have to find a reloading manual at some point, just thought i would ask a few questions now.

standard primers for 22-250 save money and get your self the Lee trimmer works well unless your bench rest shooter and saves alot of money. Powder and charge will be up to the gun it's likes and dislikes of barrel harmonics. Get the Hornady manual use the manual for the brand of bullets your shooting!!!!!!