25-06 AI - what do you think

MNDog

So i have been kicking around having some work done to my 25-06. I was wondering about haveing it AI. Anyone have one? how does it compare? Can I get dies for it?

Thoughts

I've been playing around with one for a couple years. Some will argue its not a huge benefit over the standard 25-06 Rem. I went that route because I use mine for varminting and I wanted to squeeze the utmost velocity from it. I honestly haven't done too much chronographing over this chambering. But I know I can get the 100 grain bullets around 3600 FPS using RL-19 (still haven't found max load yet). I have heard of people doing that with the standard too though.

The barrel didn't end up working with the bullet I originally wanted to shoot, the 75 V-Max. But it shoots the discontinued Berger 95 grainers absolutely awesome, I think Verminator2 can attest to that. For big game I'm shooting 100 grain bullets, sierra pro-hunters and Nosler partitions for bigger big game.

Winchester brass holds up to the higher velocity loads better than Norma, but accuracy is better with Norma.

I picked up dies from Grafs reloading supply in Mexico Missouri. Redding NK/Body/Seater competition set.

My gunsmith, whom I shoot with sometimes, shoots a 25-06 with a 30° shoulder. He named it the 25-06 Kampfeld, after his business Kampfeld Custom. I guess he thinks it is the best of both worlds. More velocity than 25-06, more accuracy than the AI.

Here is a pic of it.........

100_0352.jpg

I wonder why Feldkamp feels that a 30 Degree shoulder is more accurate than a 40? Some people say the 6 Dasher (40 degree) is more accurate than the 6BR (30 Degree). The dasher seems to win more at 600.

I like the 6.5-06imp a little better.The bore life is better.If you are going to shoot longrange the bc is better on the 6.5 bullets and there are more bullet choices.

Originally Posted By: 2muchgunHere we go..........

http://www.kampfeldcustom.com/index_042.htm