Sweets 7.62 and foaming bore cleaner?

MPFD

I have been working again at getting all the copper out of my AR and man is ever turning into a job! How long is it safe to leave 762 in the bore? I scrubbed and scrubbed last night and I just can's seem to get a clean patch. I have been alternating between sweets and foaming bore cleaner. Last night before I left for the ball game I soaked the bore down with sweets and left it in for about 4 hours after I had scrubbed on it for about 3 hours previous. I got home and ran a patch through and got a super scuzzy blue gel out. I am gonna keep at it but I'm not sure I will ever get it back to bare metal. Last time I attempted a complete strip I worked at it for a week every night with hoppes 9 and never did quit getting green patch's, finally gave up. I was hopeing that sweets was high powered enough to get it all this time. Anybody got any tips? I bought a new bullet I've never tried before to try to get my groups back into what they were when I first got the rifle as the Varmint Nightmares are just not working. I'm gonna try to get it back to bare metal and try Sierra 52 g. Match HPBT's. Any opinions are welcomed at this point!

Last edited:
I use Sweets after PD shoots to clean after lots of rounds. My experience is to leave it in the barrel no more than about 1 hour, (dont let it get completely dry) then run some patches and apply Sweets again. Mine comes totally clean after 2 or 3 Sweets treatments. Sounds like your AR barrel is really rough and could maybe use a JB bore paste treatment.

My opinion.....First I'd pull the barrel off. Next I'd buy a tomato plant. I'd plant that tomato plant where it would would get lots of sun. They like sun! Then I'd use that copper fouling barrel for a stake to assist the newly purchased plant to grow tall and proud and produce big, plump, juicy tomatters. Yummy!