jagdterriers

utahnate

Hi all, i just wanted to here some of you guys thoughts on jagdterriors? I'm thinking of buying some for blood trailing and trap line work. Maybe even some coyote, decoy and tolling work.
The kennel im really taking a liking to is the Jones Knitehunt Kennel out of Missouri. They seem to breed some good Jagd's.
Nate

I have one and am getting another next month. Great hunting dogs have alot of hunt and kill drive. I have used mine for blood trailing, he found my buddys eight point buck when he was 8 months old. I started training him when he was 6 weeks old he does very well. I use him for phesant hunting, retreiving doves and hunting critters, coon, fox, possum and anything else he can find to kill. As for a decoy dog, I know there are alot better dog breeds for that. Jagd terriers have a one track mind when they see something they want to sink their teeth into, and seem to me like they could be pretty hard to train to call off a critter. Just my opinion. As for a trap line dog they would be awsome. They are a dog with alot of energy and need to be hunted or ran in the woods alot, or they will find other ways to burn that energy, usally not good ways. If you have any other questions or want to talk Jagd's send me a PM. Also DTOM has two litter mates to my dog,and is very knowledgable on the breed. He also has a cur he decoys with. May be someone else to talk to. Good Luck.