Help with saving a howler (pictures added).

billyho11

I recently had a rancher give me a cow horn howler after hunting his property. He said he bought it years ago and could never get it to work right. It has an engraving on the side of the horn that says Herb's Howlers. Anyway, the rancher had it stored out in his saddle barn and it looks like some moister got under the coating and the out side of the horn is starting to peal. What should I do to save this howler? It's a field grade howler not too much to look at, but it sounds pretty good.

Last edited:
That is a collectors item! I have little experience with horn so I will defer what to someone that knows. Until then I would not do anything with it.

The Amateur Archaelogists Hand book for cleaning/preserving Horn/Antler calls for a salt test useing silver nitrate.

Directions say - soak the object in fresh water, remove object & add to the water a drop or 2 of silver nitrate, which may be obtained at any drug store or chemical supply house. If salt is present, the water will become cloudy.
If salt is present let the object soak in fresh water for an hour,then make a second salt test. repeat until a negative result is obtained. (I.E no cloudy water)
Depending on the material your are dealing with, water, alcohol,ether or gasoline are good cleaning agents.

Chart-

Cleaning agents Material

Water ------------------ turtle shell, gold,stone
alcohol ---------------- wood, glass
Acetone--------------- antler,horn,ivory,shell,amber,copper
Gasoline & ether-------grease or simular organic dirts

If the object permits, dip it in the proper cleaning liquid (see chart) until it is covered completely. Otherwise, dip a cotton swab or very solf brush in the liquid and apply.. If you have any doubts about the solution, try it on a small area of the object where damage will not show.. Better still, try it on some less valuable material of the same type.

(Preserving)