Butch's Bore Shine

dooger
I have no experience with butch's bore shine, but for copper, nothing works better for me than "wipe out". Its a foaming bore cleaner. I have tried many solvents, and this worked the best for me by far. Hope this helps.

I use it and it seems to work good, but you really need to use it where you have some fresh air. It's one of the more Stinky bore cleaners I've used.

For copper, I vote for Wipe Out, and Accelator. It does a good job of removing copper, and you don't have to wear out your bbl with a brush. I recently ordered their other product (name escapes me) that is a foam carbon and fouling remover. I'm amazed at what a good job that stuff does too. When the fouling and copper is really bad, I've let Wipe Out sit in the bbl for days (usually going in several times a day and applying). I've used about every cleaner and solvent out there, but for now I'm sold on Wipe Out products.

I too like wipeout. But there is also product called Montana Copper Clean that works GREAT! You want to do it it a ventilated area unless you don't mind burning your nose hairs out. They also make Montana Extreme I haven't used but I'm sure works as well.

Quote:
I too like wipeout. But there is also product called Montana Copper Clean that works GREAT! You want to do it it a ventilated area unless you don't mind burning your nose hairs out. They also make Montana Extreme I haven't used but I'm sure works as well.

I "used" to use Butch's. But on a suggestion from one of the BR shooters at the club, I bought and tried some Montana Extreme and I can tell you from comparison that there is a VAST difference in their copper-removing abilities. Montana Extreme will get the copper out that Butch's leaves behind. I've cleaned rifles with Butch's until they appeared clean, and then cleaned them with Montana just to test the difference....and got lots more blue patches out of the barrels. Just my experience.