How long before your first coyote?

baer19d

I'm new at hunting predators this year. I've made 22 stands in the past 2 weeks and nothing! Not a single coyote, bobcat or fox and I know the're there because there's plenty of sign. I did call in a hawk. I'm in north central Kentucky and our coyote population is'nt the largest in the country but after 22 stands I should have seen something. Is this normal or am I just having bad luck?

The second stand I called I got a young male, but I was in a target rich environment. For what it's worth it was a long dry spell after that. Less than 22 stands but longer than 2 weeks. Not sure what the norm is out east.

Nate

It took me a few years of sporadic calling to finally kill one, and I've only called in one before that. Most of the other guys on here called in coyotes faster then that I think. It'll come, just keep trying and keep the wind in your face and the sun at your back. It took me about 3 years to get one in and dead, not giving up got me my first so just don't give up.

My first time calling was three years ago the day after i bought my call and called in seven on the first stand. Have not had that luck again and so far this year have made around twenty stands and called two coyotes and 1 bobcat but no fur down.

Are you solo / lone hunting? Solo hunters are backdoored and the coyotes come and go without the hunter knowing it. I went out solo hunting this a.m. and saw nothing. I wouldn't be surprised if at least one coyote came and went on me.

Jeff/Tucson

this is a rough year no matter where you are. I am sure even the guys who still taking them are not doing as well as they were last year. I've called in a few but only 1 taken as said before lone hunting and get back doored /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif