v-max vs. hollow points

bner21

I am new to reloading and was wondering, other than apperance, what the difference between v-max and hollow points (performance, fur friendliness)? Oh yeah I am loading these into a Savage 22-250 (if this matters). Thanks for any info.

Both bullets I have shot and both had killed nicely.. The hollow point allows you to have not as much damage in my expereinces.. The vmax bullets are nice but if you hit that front shoulder of a yote then I was getting that splash effect with huge holes.. Some in the neighborhood of 5-6" and it was nasty.. The hollow points penetrate better for me if you do hit bone... Just my opinion...

V max tears them up alot more than a hollow point. But if you are not worried about fur damage then go with the vmax.

Never used a HP, just 50 gr V-maxs. Never had an issue with blow ups including the 2 I shot today.

I have thought about trying some 52 gr. match HP's for fox though. V-maxs tear the heck outta them.

CB

I have thought about trying some 52 gr. match HP's for fox though. V-maxs tear the heck outta them.

CB

I shot 3 today with the Nosler 52 gr. match bullets out of a 223 AR. Small entrances and no exits. Shots were 60-125 yards. They were all DRT. We did all we could do to call in some fox to get a little variety but no go, I would have liked to shoot one to see how it would handle the HPBT.

At high velocities(22-250) the Vmax will put them down with authority but as stated, fur-friendly they aren't always. I love them and shoot them in 223 and 22-250.

I was getting to many that didn't drop in their tracks with HP's.