Turf Wars

Quote:
Maybe because I live in Idaho and have tons of area to hunt I would never hold back in bringing someone new into the sport so they too can enjoy it as much as I do, because I don't think anyone can say they are a sole self taught hunter.

As to hold back hunting techniques and “there super special spots” to someone, that’s nonsense

...oh lord, kumbaya

(just had to throw that in!)

Quote:
yea maybe but those are his spots and I wont shoot them without him. If you take me to your spots, I figure its yours after the hunt too.

Boy do I wish I had you for a hunting buddy.

I took one of my "friends" out with me last year on privately-owned land that I had gotten permission for, that I had scouted coyotes for, and that I have helped the landowner with fence repairs, etc on. The next thing I know he's talking about calling that spot because it's "close to his house."

I will never take him calling again.

Maybe it's just me but I thought that when you have a hunting buddy, part of the time you call on land you have obtained permission for and part of the time you call on land that he/she has obtained permission on, and you never call on the other buddy's spots without him/her there. But maybe that's just me.

Here's another scenario I ran into just tonight. We just got about 1 inch of snow here in the Champaign, Illinois area so I called a landowner where I have hunted coyotes for the last 4 years to make sure it was still okay to hunt it. Apparently, he said he has leased the land to some bowhunters and the bowhunters want exclusive hunting rights over the property. I told him I understood and proposed that all of my calling take place after dark when the bowhunters aren't hunting, and he agreed.

I haven't talked to the lease hunters yet but it frustrates me that someone can throw money at a landowner and "lock it up" as their own. It kindof burns me that I might have to ask the lease hunters for permission to hunt on land that they don't own.