450 Bushmaster

claimbuster

Anybody shooting and reloading the 450 Bushmaster?

My 450 20" rifle will get here next week. Timney trigger is on order, Burris tactical rings are coming. Not sure what scope I'll put on it. My plan is for it to be a 50-150 yd. pig rifle so I think a 3-9 would work.

Got a set of Hornady dies and found 400 pcs. of nice once fired brass. Of course the Hornady 250gr. Flex-Tip bullet isn't available yet so I'm going to try the Hornady XTP's.

Get this all put together then I guess I'll have to go to Texas (Glenn, did you get that hint?)

Having fun with this one.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

I hear ya brother I hear ya! I just started shooting a .458 SOCOM from Rock River. I LIKE IT! I tried working with Bushmaster and all I got was empty promises. OH by the way we are at 66 hogs this season.

Perhaps if you're shooting pigs, a variable power scope with a lower magnification might be a good idea. Gives you a larger field of view and might help in dense brush. Just a thought.

Otherwise, go get some pork!!! Don

Last edited:
Nice MI buck SH son!!! I've been trying to decide on the 450 or a 6.8 upper /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif RR

Quote:
Perhaps if you're shooting pigs, a variable power scope with a lower magnification might be a good idea. Gives you a larger field of view and might help in dense brush. Just a thought.

Otherwise, go get some pork!!! Don

I'm listening! Burris makes their Signature Select in 1.5-6X40. A better choice for pigs?

Remember guys this is a PD shooter here who considers a 4.5-14X50 a really "low power" scope.

Tell us about the recoil factor.

Is it indeed "about like a 20ga shotgun" ?