.308 cal 110 gr V-Max

southarkrob

I am putting together a 300 whisper contender carbine for my 7 year old niece to hunt with and I picked up a box of 110 grain V-maxs, I know this is a varmint bullet but my thinking was that they would hold up better under the slower velocity of the 300 whisper....am I wrong on this?? i am wanting to use these on deer. I was wanting some Nosler 125 ballistic tips but couldn't find any. Looking for somebody that has shot these before....thanks Robbie

Boy that's a tough question. I've no experience with the 110 V-max's at those low velocities, but have shot a bunch out of the 308 at coyotes and ground squirrels.

My best thought is even at lower velocities it's a really thin skinned varmint bullet. I'd probably consider something a little more heavily constructed it I could obtain it. Perhaps even a cast gas checked bullet might be better, they kill very well at the velocities your talking about with the Whisper.

I'd try some of the 115 or 135 grainers available here. Even shot up to 30-30 velocities they perform well on deer.

http://www.beartoothbullets.com/bulletselect/index.htm

My regular Varmint load is a Hornady 110 grain VMax on Norma 210 powder with 308 Federal Match Brass and Fed primers.
I don't know if the bullet would stand up better at slower velocity or not. I'm not sure how much my round slows at 400 yards but the VMax still performs well (explosive expansion) I don't get an exit on Coyotes 100-400 yards. For closer range I use an AR while calling. The 308 is for shooting over baits on a couple of frozen ponds. I haven't shot over 400 with the 110 gr.

I'd say try a few rounds and set up 3-4 one gallon milk jugs and see how much penetration you get at 50 and 100 yards with the 110 VMax fired subsonic.

Please report back with your testing results.