44 mag rifle

WPH

I am looking for info on some 44mag rifle questions. First what is the recoil like and comparable to? Also are the ruger bolt and lever rifles strong, reliable, and accurate?

I don't know about the Ruger Lever guns, but the 77-44 is strong, reliable and accurate. Years ago I had one of Rugers 44 mag auto carbines and it was a very good gun. Killed a pile of deer with it. Can't tell you about the recoil, just that there's not much shooting this handgun round in a rifle, even a light rifle.

Recoil is minimal in any 44 Mag carbine I have had experiance with,(mostly Marlin) But I doubt it is any more in the Ruger, as far as well built the Rugers are built like tanks from the examples I have seen. BTW I have been useing 44 Mag carbines for over forty years, they are one of my favorite tools for deep brush

I have a Ruger 77/44 bolt. This is my second one and it shoots great for the first couple of shots but starts stringing the rest. The first one I bought was so bad I had the dealer to take it back. My son had this one I have now and he was going to sell it. It was not as bad as the one I took back.I saved it for my grandson to use because it is light weight and shoots ok. I guess the barrel heats up and the shots starts stringing after several consecitive shots.The rifle is light weight and great to stalk hunt with. The recoil is not bad and the great part of that is if you reload you can load to what you like.I don't think they make this rifle anymore so you might be able to find a used one.Good luck.

The Ruger bolts (77/44) are WAY more accurate than the Ruger lever action (96/44) rifles. The older Ruger 44 Carbines and Deerfield model autos were't bad shooters if you keep them clean.

I'd take a Marlin 1894 lever over any of the Rugers.