Battery question - Amp Hours?

LeviSS

I'm hooking up a home-brew spotlight using a 400,000CP Q-Beam. It draws 9 amps.

That battery I was going to get is a UB1280. I noticed they aren't all the same amp-hour numbers. I was looking for an 8Ah battery, because that's what the Lightforce lights come with.

Can I use a battery with more than 9Ah? Is a bigger number better? Can someone explain how that works to me? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif

Hey Levi,

I'm no expert but the AH(amps per hour)is just a number representing the total amount of energy available in the battery... more is better! Voltage needs to match your bulb, a 12v battery will cook a 6v bulb almost instantly.
It isn't a given but a 9amp light should run almost 1hour on a 9AH battery before it is completely dead... as in 9amps per hour. At least that is my understanding. I'm sure someone with more knowledge will chime in here and get you going.

Remember that until fox season is here, night hunting in Illinois is a no go!

Nikonut /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif

AMPHOURS= AMPS x HOURS
In other words a 100AH battery could run a 10A light for 10 hours or a 1A light 100 hours. A UB1280 battery is 12 volts and 8 amp/hours. 8 amphours/9 amps = .888hours run time or 53 minutes. Get a bigger battery, smaller light, or limit your light use to 53 minutes.

Edited for mathmatics /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smiliesmack.gif

Last edited:
Nikonut - Thanks. That's what a friend told me he was pretty sure that's what it meant. It is a 12 volt, btw. I am ready for Nov. 10 to roll around, I've never night hunted before.

SmilinIB - Thanks. Do you (or anyone else) have a recommedation for a different battery?