Oct. '08 Predator Xtreme p. 78 Coyotes Eyesight

GeorgiaJoe

The first of what looks to be an excellent series on coyotes vision. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif Be sure and check it out!
GAJoe

I haven't gotten my copy yet. I'm interested in this writeup, as I did quite a bit of research on that topic for a seminar in Oklahoma. Should be an informative read.

Tony

Quote:
I haven't gotten my copy yet. I'm interested in this writeup, as I did quite a bit of research on that topic for a seminar in Oklahoma. Should be an informative read.

Tony

My dad got his copy over 2 weeks ago and thought that article was real good. I have yet to get my copy either. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif

I got my copy of Predator Xtreme today. I read the article " The Eyes Have It". I don't really care what a coyote sees when it looks at things because what I have been doing for the last 20 years has worked just fine. I do wear camo and have all my guns painted camo and whatever they see when they look at me doesn't seem to bother them UNLESS I MOVE. I wear green camo if I am sitting in front of green junipers and I wear tan or brownish camo when I am laying in the dry grass or bare ground that I hunt on. I think the coyotes sense of smell is much more important to worry about than their vision. If you move most of the time they will see your movement. I sit on the sunny side of the trees and rocks when I have to, to keep the wind direction in my favor so the coyotes won't smell me. Over the years I have killed a lot more coyotes that didn't like what they saw than the coyotes that didn't like what they smelled. I took these two pictures last season and the coyote was 15 yards from me. As it was approaching the call it heard my camera and looked right at me.
IMG_2563-2.jpg

Whatever this coyote saw didn't seem to bother it too much.
IMG_2567.jpg