the best howler

corey sr.

i know this is gonna hurt, but who makes the "best" howler? i am still learning the howling game and would like everyone's opinion on the best sounding howler on the market.
i discovered years ago on turkey calls, it's hard to master a call when you practice with a piece of junk.

corey sr.,
The best factory made howler in my opinion is the Crit'r call "Magnum". You can call many coyotes with one of those buggers without breaking your budget. Best of the Best? The Cronk cow horn howler is the one. As far as I know, it is the only one that comes with a 100 percent satisfaction guarentee. Don't like your new Cronk Howler? Send it back and I will either fix it, replace it free or give you a full refund of your money.

corey sr.
I'd say go with a Cronk regardless of pricing. They are custom made, one of a kind. More importantly, Rich plays a very active role in this B-Board. He returns emails/phone calls right away, he shares his knowledge and techniques. Priceless. He knows a woodsman wants more than a plastic unit in a bubble-pack and he delivers.

There is nothing like that box showing up at the door with your name on it, uh, actually yes there is, the coyote showing up at 100yds and closing in fast. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

I happen to own four howlers. Number four doesn't even look like a howler ! It's more than that really, one of the most versatile calls I ever owned. Rich Cronk made it ! Jimmie

Off the shelf howlers.
Loudest crit'r call magnum, and sounds pretty good.
Best sounding with pretty good volume and very easy to make the correct sounds with. Great yaps barks and kiyi's is the E.L.K. Industries Power Howler.
For someone who is just getting into howling and is not used to using the open reeds the Power Howler will be easier to get a consistent sound with than the open reed howlers.