Bolt hard to lift after firing...

Str8 Shooter

I just started shooting my new Remington model 7 (.17 Fireball) and noticed that the bolt is hard to lift with both factory and reloads. Anyone know what causes this and/or a remedy?

higher pressure loads cause it, are there ejector marks on the case head too? if so the pressure of your loads is too high for sure, back the powder down imo. do u like that 17 fireball? i shot one and it was pretty cool, no recoil was awesome, it was a 700 sps varmint, nastily heavy trigger pull though.

Quote:
I just started shooting my new Remington model 7 (.17 Fireball) and noticed that the bolt is hard to lift with both factory and reloads. Anyone know what causes this and/or a remedy?

You really need to give more information.

Marks on the case? What do the primers look like - not just cratering (rems can have cratering without pressure), and ejector marks. Do the fired cases chamber back in the rifle without problems - sometimes or always? Is the bolt even a little hard to close on a new case?

Inquiring minds want to know /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Primers are a bit cratered, no ejector marks... one long scratch along the side of most cases. The reloads chambered but the bolt was hard to close on most. New cases chambered and the bolt was hard to close on 40% of the new cases.

That sucks to run into this stuff with a new rifle. Where is is happening with both factory and hand loads it is a little puzzling and leads me to believe the rifle is the problem. Or a length issue.

Savageone, I like the gun... it shoots pretty well, around an inch for 5 @ 100yds. I just ran into this problem, but I'm sure I'll figure it out. I may need to bump the shoulder back a bit, my sizer die might have moved.

That was my thoughts also. BUT what about the factory ammo issue. I have never had factory ammo that was not sized right, that is what has left me puzzled.