First Mouth-called Coyote

Chile Verde

I've been calling in coyotes with my JS and Foxpro for a couple of years now, but until Saturday I had never gotten one in with a mouth call. Maybe I'd been trying too hard, because Saturday, I wasn't even calling coyotes, I was trying to call crows.

I found an area close to my house that hasn't been hunted in over fifty years. It's government land and "no weapons or hunting allowed." My 8 year old and I went hiking to look at some cliff dwellings. It is not a real popular area because there is only one really interesting dwelling in the area but it overlooks a very pretty valley.

We had hiked in about 30 minutes and it was about 4:00 in the afternoon. There wasn't another soul around so I thought I'd try out the crow call I just got from "Cheaper than Dirt." When using other crow calls it has seemed to help if I throw in a few distress calls as well (see the other guy's thread about crows yanking his chain).

I sat down in plain sight of the valley, wearing a purple shirt. My son was still crawling around over the cliff dwellings, not holding still at all. My "always-with-me general-purpose-predator-call" is nothing but a two inch piece of plastic "sippy straw" the kind with the flexible elbow in one end, with a metal reed dropped down inside it.

My elk guide two years back had made up a bunch and had given me one. It fits inside my glasses case, which I always have with me since I'm in the advanced bi-focal stage of life, but the straw has gotten a bit beaten up over time. I've discovered I can make a hawk screech if I squish the straw just right, or a crow call, or a rabbit squall.

Anyway, I started out trying to make a screech or two but all I could get out was sort of a short bark. I then blew a couple of excited crow series, and son-of-a-gun, I got a challenge bark out of the valley below me, and then another.