Gun for 1000 Yard Prairie Dogs?

outdoorsjoe222

I went for my first Prairie Dog hunt in South Dakota this year and shot some dogs over 500 yards with the .223 and the .204. For the next trip I want to try and break 1000 yards. I am totally new to the long range game and am hoping to get some advice.

*I was wondering what caliber of gun, I was thinking about a 6mmBR or a 6.5X47

*Would you buy a used gun (Remington 700 or Savage) then put a better stock and rebarrel if necessary or would you buy a Savage LRPV or 12F in 6mmBr and call it good?

*Would a Leupold VXIII be good enough for dialing in hundreds of shots per year or do you need to spend more money?

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated since most of you all know alot more about long range than I do.

Thanks

Fast twist 22/6mm AI with long heavy high BC pills. Also assuming your rifle is capable sub MOA.

6 BR and 6.5 Lapua lack oomph, you need large case capacity with long skinny bullets to have any consistency at 1000 yds. Not that you couldn't connect on occasion at the 4 digit ranges with lesser capacity cartridges but you will be better suited and thus a better chance to hit your intended target vs. relying on Murphys law or your lucky rabbits foot.
Of course optics of high end quality are needed as well as the ability accurately range your target and know where your bullet is hitting at that particular range. Bullet drop beyond 500 yds. is more easily measured in feet than in inches.

Quote:
I went for my first Prairie Dog hunt in South Dakota this year and shot some dogs over 500 yards with the .223 and the .204. For the next trip I want to try and break 1000 yards. I am totally new to the long range game and am hoping to get some advice.

Addicting, ain't it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Quote:
*I was wondering what caliber of gun, I was thinking about a 6mmBR or a 6.5X47