Trying to guess width of a blacktail

BigJim

I have a few pics of a couple of blacktail bucks. Hard to tell how wide they are just by looking at the pics.

Does anyone know the length of ear to ear on a blacktail? Only way I can guess correctly I think. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif

The rule of thumb I have always been told is a mature Columbia Blacktail is no more than 18 inches ear tip to ear tip. A mature mule deer is 22 inches. Maybe Yellowhammer has an opinion on this. Hope this helps.

I have been hunting blacktails for over 12 years now and Im not sure where that other guy got an 18" ear spread from but I could be wrong at least with a mature one. aboute 18 of the blacktail bucks ive killed all had ear tip to tip widths of aboute 9-12 inches in the alert position. Those being bucks of forken horn size to 3 point size, or 3x3 for those of you white tail weird horn counting confused people, lol. from my experience a average forked horn has a 8-12 inch antler inside spread, a 3 points on average has a 10-16 inch antler inside spread, and a four point which is a large mature buck having a 12-18 inch inside antler spread. with 18 inch inside spread being a very big buck. Very rare will you ever see a blacktail get bigger than 18" spread. I have killed two nice blacktails. One was a 4x3 with a 16" inside spread and he was 20" high, a huge basket case buck. and the other being a 4x4 with a 17.5 inch spread and 16" tall. all the others were smaller forken horns and 3 points. and the biggest blacktail ive ever seen was 10 years ago when I was 14 years old and he was a 5x6 heavy horned monster with probley a 20" spread and 17" high.