me or the scope

yoopereh

Hello all, I am fairly new to pm. I recently bought an ar from dtech. The scope on it is a bushnell banner 3 - 9 x 40. I can pattern under an inch easily at 100 yards. At 200 yards my pattern is around 2 to 6 inches. Is it me, Is it the scope? Should I spend 300$ on a new scope and find out that I just should never shoot past 100. I have been shooting black hills 55 gr. fmj. Should I just keep shooting with the bushnell scope, and practice for a month or two before making that decision. Please help me. I do know I am not a great shot.

Personally, I couldn't do very well at 200 yds with a 9x scope, so 2-6" groups with factory ammo at that distance wouldn't exactly shock me, and I'm not a terrible shot either. My vision limitations just require a bit more magnification if I'm looking at a 1" orange dot that far downrange. I'm at that age (42) where my vision is actively changing and it's a drag.

I wouldn't jump right on a new scope yet if I was young with sharp eyes. It could be many other variables at play. My first inclination would be to let a reputable gunsmith give the whole package the once over first then evaluate things from there; try different ammo (consider twist rate and bullet mass), give the barrel time to settle in, etc.

Don't panic yet, my friend. Just experiment a little first. I once had a new rifle that wouldn't shoot well at all just because I was overcleaning it. It could be something very simple.

yoopereh,
After you have your rifle checked out and make sure the scope mount is secure to the rifle and the rings and scope are tight, too, if the rifle does not perform at 200 yards or a greater distance, it could be the scope parallax setting is off. Also, your technique of sighting your rifle through the scope may be inconsistant. There are several articles you could read that will instruct you on proper consistant technique in viewing through the telescope sight.