Whats your favourite brass and primer???

Lenneskog

I was wondering wich is your favourite brass and primer and if you use different manufactors on brass from caliber to caliber??

Im pretty new at handloading so im just trying to get some facts collected... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bowingsmilie.gif

///Fredrik /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif

I've had good luck with both Remington and Winchester bulk brass. I've been using CCI primers for lots of years, there made near where I live so I kinda like promoting the local economy. I've been stuffing cases now for near 50 years and most brass on the market seems to work well.

If your new to reloading annealing along with Lee's collet neck sizing dies is a good way to increase any brass life. Firing work hardens the necks and annealing returns them to dead soft just like a factory new case.

It's really easy, just stand your cases up in a shallow pan of water about a half inch deep. Using a propane torch heat just the necks til they turn red. Tip them over with a screwdriver (they are hot). Dry and load. I anneal about every fifth firings.

I really like Lake City brass for my 223. I get it for free and i think it is very well made. I am still fairly new to reloading and i have never loaded any premium brass so take it for what its worth. I have shot some dandy groups using that stuff. Other than Lake City i load Winchester. Lee

I like...
1 - Lapua
2 - Lake City
3 - Winchester
4 - Remington

... Fed doesn't make the list - I throw it away, or trade it.

Winchester brass, and various primers from Winchester,
Federal, Remington, and CCI. For Large Rifle, I usually
give both Winchester, or CCI, a test, for that last little
bit of consistency. For Small Rifle, Winchester, Remington
Benchrest, or CCI, get tested. For Pistol, Federal.

Squeeze

In 223-IMI, TZZI(IMI), Lapua, Win, Rem in that order
Rem 7 1/2, CCI BR-4, CCI 450

In 22/250-PMC, Win, Rem
Fed 210, Rem 9 1/2, CCI200

243- PMC, Win, Rem