Best powder and bullet for .22 hornet???

kellen23

Hey guys I was reading through your posts on helping guys new to reloading, thanks for all the info about safe operations on how to reload. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif Anyways I was wondering what would be the best powder and what grain of bullet to use on a .22 Hornet for coyotes?? Thanks

I bet you are going to find that 13.0 Grains Hodgon Lil -Gun and Serria 45 Grain soft points ''Hornet Bullets'' are the way to go.

My dad and I cut a 45 Grain ballastic tip and 40 Grain hornet bullet in half and we found that Hornet Bullets have a thinner jacket and sounds like they expand better at Hornet velocities 2500 fps to 2900 FPS

There is a great post on this subject in late May or Early June use the Search tab Great info. I'm new to the hornet myself but i am loading what the guys suggested on that post.

I have found that 13.0 grains of Lil Gun and a 40gr V-Max shoots real good in my Savage M40. My buddy shoots the exact same load in his Savage M40 as well, with equal or slightly better accuracy. I ran a dozen or so across the chronograph for an average of 3,029 FPS. Not to bad for a puny little old .22 Hornet. I think that'll work on Mr. Yote just fine.

With a Hornet I would suggest a 45 grain SP over any powder that kicks it along at about 25 to 26 hundred FPS.

I use 11.4 grains of h4227. I would like to try varget or lilgun sometime just have a bunch of 4227 around.

Kellen23

I noticed cowboy told you to get 45 grain "hornet" bullets. Be advised some are .223" and some are .224" diameter. You probably want the 224 variety, and I agree, LIL Gun powder works well in my NEF single shot.

Dave