Handcrafted Coyote Decoy & Calling Suggestions

SDHowler

From 1977-92 I worked as an Animal Damage Control trapper for the SD Game, Fish, & Parks. In the early 1980’s, some of the trappers got an idea to make some coyote decoys for calling coyotes. My first attempts were a couple of coyote silhouettes that I cut from plywood. I painted these a tan color, close enough to match a coyote. One decoy was a standing version and the other coyote decoy was a sitting version.

I had enough success using these decoys to go one step further and cover these silhouettes with coyote fur. I skinned and fleshed a couple of hides and then split the hides from the lower jaw through the belly. Then I coated and rubbed the flesh side of the hides with Twenty Mule Team Borax to aid in preserving the pelt. I left the skin coated with the borax air dry with several more rubs of the borax for a 24 hour period. I stapled some foam sections to head area and along the back portions of the plywood silhouette to give this coyote decoy a more rounded body appearance. Then I stapled the skin to the plywood and trimmed the outside fur edges.

Some of the other trappers purchased full body style taxidermy mounts of sitting coyotes. They commented that the sitting style coyotes worked the best and most coyotes approached the decoy from its back side.

For use at my calling stands, I generally placed the sitting coyote decoy at a distance of 20-30 yards. With the decoy in place, as other people have mentioned, it’s great to have the approaching coyote looking at the decoy not the caller. This may give you a chance to reposition your rifle and bipod for a better shot. Once I have any coyote approaching my calling stand, I stop calling as long as the coyote keeps coming in. If they stop or hesitate, then tease it with a few short, soft cries with the call or lip squeaks.

The following pics show the latest sitting decoy that I crafted, I even found a couple of glass eyes to use with this coyote.