243 AR10 advice

dirtytough

I'm thinking of building a 243 upper for an AR10 that I already have. I have an Aero lower so will probably go with an Aero upper as well. I would like to try the new Hornady 80 grain ELD VT bullet in it. If that doesn't work/shoot well I would try smaller Vmax's. Use case. Killing coyotes that are called in. And if anyone has a 243 AR could they post up barrel length, velocity, and bullet?

Aero upper
SGT of Arms Fore end. (I like having a machined in Arca rail)
X Cal barrel. 18"-22", 1-8" twist, 3R. Rifle, or rifle +2 gas? Threaded for a suppressor.
BCG. I have a RCA BCG that if I send in to X Cal they will headspace the barrel to. So planning to use that.
SLR adjustable gas block.

Off the top of my head those are the main parts. I'm a noob when it comes to AR's.

Any advice on barrel length, gas length, scrap the entire project?

Regards, Branden

My dad's been using a DPMS 243 for like 25 years. 18" barrel, rifle gas length. 55 grain winchester silvertip. Its killed the shit out every coyote and deer he's shot.

My advice with AR's in general is to not get too cute with the gas system. No need for the +2 gas length and if you do go adjustable gas block, dont cheap out. If you adjust it too low the gun won't cycle on less powerful ammo or in extremely different weather from what you tuned it in, or if the gun is really dirty. Have the tools with you to change gas settings on critical hunts.

I have two 243 AR10’s. Both Aero M5 lowers. Both uppers are BCA. One 22” heavy stainless with the brake removed. The Other a 20” SOCOM styled barrel. I will be removing the break from that when I get around to it. Never ran any of my loads through a chronograph yet but they both shoot good enough with 55 and 60 green Boolits pushed around 4000 ft./s or more. Paid 289 for the 20 inch version at the time and probably 100 bucks more for the 22 inch stainless version at the time. Both have CMC single stage 2.5 pound triggers.